The importance of acceptance

I was always told that aiming for better prospects in life and wanting to achieve things is a healthy way of living. That attitude though, leads to always wanting more and more and essentially not be satisfied with one’s life. Perhaps this is just a disillusioned point of view, but rather than comparing lives and situations, if I made the most of what I have, choosing the best option among those I have, wouldn’t that make my life more enjoyable? Expecting always the option I don’t have instead, it’s definitely a good recipe for frustration.

I really want to outline, to myself first, how much of the values I have are constructions of a certain social system I was raised with, but they are not really mine. They don’t make me feel any better!

I remember when I took my now-too-long-break from work, that I wanted to understand what was really valuable for me and I wanted to learn something where I could grow day by day by doing it. I was tired of learning “procedures” that kept changing where I didn’t have the feeling of having learnt anything at the end of the day.

After a while I forgot about this and recently I’ve been in the loop of looking for a standard way to go back to the “work force”, which too often looks to me like a voluntary labour camp force at the time of the totalitarian social systems. I am sorry, but with the current work conditions it does look like that, especially in certain areas of the world, including Europe.

It is clear to me that the current social instability is intentionally maintained the way it is. Otherwise we are all intelligent enough to realize we could simply split our work and needs and there would be more than enough for everybody, but so the story goes and has always gone. If we divided the world’s wealth, perhaps there wouldn’t even be any poverty. Incidentally, what makes us genuinely happy and healthy are among the less expensive things on earth: beautiful landscapes, outdoor activities (hiking, swimming), cultural activities (reading, writing, drawing, playing) friendship, affection, love and fruits!

There is no need for me to be unhappy, maybe, if only I were to give value to what really matters, for me of course.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The importance of acceptance

  1. Alessandro Corrain says:

    I agree with you Francesca. Living is so hard nowadays and often is very stressing for our personal life, even if you have a work. I hope in future every one could have a chance for realizing what we desire for our life. Changing World is a very hard goal, but a famous person which any years ago changed the world said “Stay hungry, stay foolish”. So I think that to reach our inner wellness and satisfaction the only way is to stay hungry, very very hungry, about what really matters for us. What do you really want? What is important in your life today?…..Love it?Fight for it! :-). Bye

Comments are closed.