You know the answer, it’s Rebecca’s fault.

It’s always Rebecca’s fault for being who she is. That’s why she finds herself in trouble, because she doesn’t comply.

Clearly a slave that does not comply is an issue, but any sentient being would not like to be enslaved for an evil purpose right? Wrong, she should adapt her personality to society’s needs, family’s expectations, colleagues’ ego. Being herself, knowing herself, following her intuitions and personality as it unfolds, those are her real problems. She is different and that is definitely an unwelcome trait of her. Independent individuals are not well regarded in this age and times. Have they ever been?

So she thought, how to defend herself from all the accusation that being herself is offensive to society? She talks about facts, the others keep saying she is wrong on a personal, internal level. Religious groups, say she needs to be rebuilt internally, and then get upset if she says they have sectarian tendencies, but who else would say “you should be rebuilt internally”, if not a controlling, well, sect?

The sun shines beautifully, and there are always reasons for Rebecca to be cheerful. No matter how dark the times might be, there are also good people she meets and despite all difficulties, she can rely on other people’s experiences to feel that she is not alone. Books were great too and altogether she came to realize that hers, were actually shared experiences.

But how to move forward, to be self sufficient, not only economically, but psychologically? We are not islands are we? Gosh all those rhetorical questions are so boring. Sometimes I just feel I repeat already digested concepts, it’s so difficult to be original, everything I think of, has already being thought before, and most likely expressed in better ways.

Back to Rebecca, why can’t she just shut up and comply as everyone else does. It’s the majority’s rule, isn’t it. They have a right to command and demolish whoever thinks differently. She really is a black sheep, never happy, always questioning. Wouldn’t the whole world be happier without her? I mean, those who keep on the illusions would certainly be, the ruling economies would, the slaves would, as there would be no one to blame for raising questions and overall being a nuisance.

Everybody would essentially benefit because the majority of people would be happy and that is democracy. So, go to hell Rebecca. Even your family wouldn’t miss you, since you seem to accuse everyone of being unfair towards you. What if you had a victim issue? Maybe because you have been bullied in your past and then you replicate the story like victims do. It’s always the victims’ fault. Well that’s easy to blame them at least. It takes away everyone’s guilt.

Rebecca: Hey, you, narrator, may I say something about this? Yes, I have been a victim, in a way since childhood, yes everyone would be better off if I didn’t exist, but, who says you have more rights to live than me? Yes you belong to a majority, that’s fair, but there are species in the natural world who are getting extinct, yet we value them, as society. So, it’s not because I belong to a minority that I should shut up. I have a right to exist by the simple fact that I was born. So why don’t you keep your democratic majority issues to yourself. Democracy only works when people have free time to inform themselves and be knowledgeable, if not, it’s a form of control over the masses and a form of illusion about freedom. I understand it makes the majority feel better and carefree to think that someone is responsibly taking care of all important, demanding issues and that they are free, but do they actually really feel free? You say that I am a problem because I could interfere with your plans, just by being myself, and you call that attitude democratic? I report facts, you respond with personal offenses, personal judgments, personal isolation, how about responding with other facts for a change?

Well, Rebecca, as the narrator of this story, I kind of have the power on what to write, so you are already clearly inferior to me, but I’d like to share with you this important piece of information: rational, fact-based reasoning is not actually conducive to truth, because everyone selects the facts that will suit their reasoning. Everyone adopting that approach would have a rationale that proves their case and there would be no ultimate truth we could all agree on. Sorry about that, you thought you could prove what you wanted, but you are only proving yourself, you prove what you are, you are not describing an objective truth. Do you get it?

Rebecca: Oh so you are telling me that there is no objective truth. What if I kick you in the tibia? That is relative right and subject to opinions and especially projections right? Hey why don’t we try and see how it goes.

– Gosh, you are so violent, you bet people isolate you!

– Hey that’s your opinion and projection you are applying to me and by the way it’s not a fact at all, you are just describing your personal view about me. I want facts. What if I kiss you then, would that be an equally valuable experiment? Would that be just my opinion and my projection? I believe it’s a fact, but you can alway work it out yourself, with time.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.