You are free to do as I say

It’s yet another beautiful day of sun, but I’m not in La la land, although I am living in a fantasy town as well, perhaps even more than LA, as it’s almost like a theme park nowadays. I think in the past I thought that the city was sold and bought in such a crude way that I could see some similarities with the stories of abusive prostitution. It’s difficult to feel thoughtful when the warmth of the rays gently caress the skin. Now that’s a therapy for depression, instead of hours talking and reasoning about things. Just sunshine. That’s too easy though, and we know easy solutions do not sustain the economy. A friend of mine asked me to write about my last work experience, because it’s a story of illusions and usual malpractices in the public administration. What could be more interesting is that official institutions did nothing about what I shared and asked for no proof of what I was saying, simply ignoring the facts. It’s too complicated to be dealing with that. It’s not a murder case, where facts are rather straight. It’s “simply” a story of mistreatments or forms of mental and emotional abuse, on the line:

– If you pass me anything (I had coughed once)I’ll bang you outside of the office kicking your ass.

– You know while you have been sick, we didn’t feel any difference in the office, you are useless, a piece of shit. We expected a Ferrari when we hired you and we find ourselves with a Cinquecento.

– If you sign your voluntary resignations, we will amend the disciplinary proceedings. [talking to someone else] If she doesn’t resign by herself, we fire her with these things here [the disciplinary proceedings]

– [talking to a group of people] She looks like a lamb, but she is a monster. Sometimes it happens to step on a piece of shit in life.

– [screaming] Do not ever dare to contact me again, is that clear?

Business as usual in a country where the relation of powers are almost always unfair, unjust, perhaps in a word one could say, corrupted. It is the mentality over here and it is present in almost all relations. Perhaps it comes embedded in the DNA or in the culture of those raised here. Everyone apparently rejects the Mafia style of mentality, only to behave like a Mafia club, given the opportunity. That applies to families, associations, religious groups. Those who do not share this kind of mentality of complacent “mind your business, you will live long”, or “choose a friend” or someone you know that belongs to the “family”, if not you are going to have “loyalty” problems, independently of whether one acts correctly or not.

Respect assumes twisted meanings, closer to subjugation like:

– I respect her, although I have been telling her lies for two years, me and all my “brothers”, for the sake of quiet living.

– I can’t switch off my phone at night or at any time, I have to be available for my family at all times [no medical reason for that].

– Apologies to my sister and bring her a gift, or you can consider yourself free [no more in a “loving” relationship].

I’m talking perhaps too generally so I’m not offering any interesting piece of news. The reality is that these cult-style experiences, leave those who live them rather empty, because they question their own understanding of reality and their own capabilities. The cult, political or religious based, consists of a mass of people, mostly brainwashed, one way or another, by a society that doesn’t value independent thinking or constructive criticism.

Aren’t citizens often called, “consumers”, by the way, as that’s what they are valued for: consumption and production. Gradually they will be valued only for their capabilities to consume, as robots will be able to take care of most of production, which is not bad by the way. We could all be artists and judges/consultants working an hour a day. Perhaps corruption would vanish and we would live in a better society.

Yes, in a hundred years time. Meanwhile, those who live now, have to deal with the same old human dynamics, only more complicated and subtle, since as we know more, we find finer ways to take advantage or manipulate others.

Bastards.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.